CCRP Living Legacy Award for Business named for J. Lester Spaulding

Nominations are now open for the Caribbean Community of Retired Persons (CCRP) Living Legacy Awards and this year will see the inauguration of the J. Lester Spaulding Award for Business in honour of the late media magnate and founding Board Member of CCRP.

In announcing the naming of the Award, Founder of CCRP, Jean Lowrie-Chin, noted that Lester Spaulding played a significant role in a financial management plan for the organization and in contributing towards the development of its original website.

“Lester Spaulding's life of service and innovation is a living legacy for all Jamaicans,” she stated. “Indeed, he was honoured at our CCRP Jamaica 50 Awards in 2012 for his invaluable contribution to national building.”

The J. Lester Spaulding Living Legacy Award for Business is the second named CCRP Living Legacy
Award, joining the Syringa Marshall Burnett Award for Health, with both being an annual CCRP Living Legacy Award. Two awards in general categories will also be presented at the Annual CCRP Living Legacy Awards Luncheon scheduled for Wednesday, 25th September 2019 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.

Nominations for the CCRP Living Legacy Awards close on Friday, June 14, 2019 and may be made by any member of the CCRP in the following categories:

  • The Syringa Marshall Burnett Award for Health
  • The J. Lester Spaulding Award for Business
  • Agriculture
  • Community Development
  • Education
  • Finance
  • Fine Arts
  • Legal
  • Manufacturing
  • Media and Communications
  • Performing Arts
  • Spiritual
  • Sports
  • Tourism

The nominee for the CCRP Living Legacy Award must meet all the following criteria:

  1. The nominee must be living;
  2. The nominee should be an innovator in a particular field e.g. medical, social, academic etc. or an initiator of a programme or prime mover of legislation of profound importance;
  3. The nominee should have gone beyond the call of duty and/or displayed exemplary service and dedication to a cause;
  4. Nominations preferably for persons aged 65 or older.
The Chair of the CCRP Living Legacy Awards Committee, Mrs Vilma McDonald, describes the contributions of CCRP Living Legacy Awardees as “treasures to be recognized and cherished as an inheritance for generations.” Mrs McDonald also notes that the Living Legacy Awards were established to help to ensure that the vast talent, experience and wisdom of our seniors will be celebrated and respected.
The Caribbean Community of Retired Persons was launched in 2010 with the objective of being a vital resource for persons aged 50 years and over. It now boasts a membership of over 2,500 persons.